Posted by: goalpath | March 24, 2009

Most Baby Boomers Don’t Believe that they are Old

Every day 10,000 Boomers turn 60 years of age. Do they think they are old? No way. In fact, according to a recent study by MetLife Mature Market Institute, the average age at which a Baby Boomer expects to be “old” is 78. The Boomer Project surveyed Baby Boomers and found that the average Boomer feels 10 years younger than their age would indicate.

Defining old is becoming more difficult every year. The late Warren Zevon, the famous rock singer once said that he didn’t believe that he could consider himself as middle aged because he didn’t know anyone that was 110 years old. That said, most Boomers don’t act or behave like they are old. Descriptions like middle aged, senior citizen, old fogey are all terms that seem to be falling by the wayside.

Even though I am in my sixties, I don’t seem to let the age thing get to me. In the last four years, I have driven open wheeled race cars at the Jim Russell Racing School at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, California. I bought a new Specialized full suspension mountain bike and I routinely fly thru the air and bounce off rocks at my favorite riding area in Austin. I sail my catamaran on Lake Travis. In fact, if you go to my profile page at Boomer-Insight.com, http://www.boomer-insight.com/profile.php?ID=6 , you can view Is Life Over When you Turn 60, a two minute video I made of my latest exploits.

So the question is: Are most Boomers maintaining their youth or just refusing to grow up? My wife would argue the second point in my case. She doesn’t believe I will ever grow up. And hey, if that works for you then more power to you. The single largest segment in the population buying healthclub memberships are Baby Boomers. Baby Boomers are putting themselves out there much more than previous generations.

I believe that the reason this is true has to do with higher quality healthcare, more effective drugs for cholesterol and heart disease, more emphasis on fitness, vitamins and other natural remedies, and better nutrition and diet. Your body will obviously perform better and age more gracefully if you take care of it. Oh really? Shut up and eat your granola.

Of course, that doesn’t mean that your parts will last indefinitely. I have no ACL in my right knee and will no doubt need a knee replacement in the next few years. I have moderately severe arthritis in my right wrist joint and it hurts like hell when I bend it. There is no wrist joint replacement available to fix it at this time. So I just yell a little louder when landing off a jump on my mountain bike.

So what’s your story? Have you found your inner child? Are you reliving your youth? Or do you ride your couch and do your best imitation of a potato? Inquiring minds want to know. Comment on this blog.

If you haven’t visited my website, http://www.boomer-insight.com, then you need to go there. The primary focus of Boomer-Insight.com is to encourage our members’ to share their views and opinions about the important issues facing America every day. With the internet at your disposal you no longer have to be a member of the silent majority. As a Baby Boomer, you represent the most powerful generation in America.

Remember in the ‘60s and ‘70s when Baby Boomers proclaimed that we were going to change the world? It’s not too late. We would like you to participate in the discussions, but that is not necessary to get your point across. Just login, vote in our daily polls and you will tell America how you stand on these important issues.

Leave a Reply

Categories

